• Franklin Award Gala dinner with Christine Lagarde

    January 29 2008, 19:30 - 19:30
    Location: Cercle du Club Interallie

    Christine Lagarde, Minister of Economy, Finance and Labor, was awarded the Benjamin Franklin Award by the American Chamber of Commerce in France (AmCham) on January 29 at a gala dinner.  Presiding the ceremony was the newly elected AmCham President Jean-Claude Gruffat (Director General, Citibank International), past President Francis Bailly (GE), and US Charge d'Affaires Mark Pekala.  The event was attended by 250 AmCham members and special guests, representing dozens of US Fortune 500 companies.

    The Benjamin Franklin dinners began in 1895, one year after AmCham's founding, and were used to honor illustrious members and non-members whose actions had benefited AmCham or the American business community.  Medals of Honor have been awarded since 1928, and in 1989 AmCham created a regular awards dinner to honor the CEO of a major company or a public figure promoting Franco-American business.  Recent honorees have included the CEOs of American Express, IBM, Euro Disney, JPMorgan, France Telecom, Ford, Axa, United Technologies and General Electric, as well as US Ambassadors Pamela Harriman and Felix Rohatyn, Pierre Méhaignerie (Minister of Justice) and Anne d'Ornano (founder of the Deauville American Film Festival).

    Mrs. Lagarde was honored for her career commitment to promoting trans-Atlantic business, as Chairman of Baker & McKenzie, as State Secretary for Foreign Trade, and as Minister of Economy, Finance and Labor.  In her inspiring speech she focused on the accomplishments so far of the Sarkozy administration to reform the French economy.